Skip to content

Networking a Life Saver in a Down Economy

October 2, 2008

Harvey MacKay wrote a book about it: “Dig Your Well Before You Need it.” He said you need to get your ducks in a row when things are going great, and not wait until your life or business is hanging by a thread. To me, that really applies to networking. We human critters need community. We aren’t in this game alone, and we need to support each other. Now that the US Economy is in meltdown, look around and see who you can help, and who can help you.

If you’ve been doing things right all along, you have “people”. I talked about this a few weeks ago. And, if you’ve been taking care of your people, your people will, more than likely, be there for you.

What does it mean to “take care of them?” Networking isn’t about meeting people so you can use them. It isn’t about meeting the right people just so they will help you. It’s about building mutual support systems where you help each other out. I have a lot of people on my informal team – or network – who I respect and look to for guidance and support. Every chance I get I will send out helpful articles; send them leads and referrals; and spend some quality time with them. If I have information that will make their businesses and life better, I want them to have it. They do the same for me.

Take, for instance, car buying. I HATE the whole negotiation process in car buying. It’s lopsided, it’s frustrating, it makes me crazy. I have been known to use ‘special words’ when caught up in such insanity. For that reason, I kept my Dodge minivan for 10 years. I liked the van and it was paid off, but I didn’t keep it because of that. I kept it as an avoidance maneuver. As long as I convinced myself it was a perfectly good vehicle, I didn’t have to walk into a car showroom.

Now – enter my special secret agent in charge of car buying: Annie Heerup. I’ve known Annie for about 3 years. I have sent many people her way during that time. Even though I hadn’t used her services, I knew she was good at what she does because trusted friends had enthusiastically referred her to me after she had helped them.

Annie is a former car sales rep and currently has a dealer license. She can buy and sell cars in just about every state in the US, or knows someone who can. She is a 5-foot tall bundle of energy. And she knows absolutely everything one could possibly want to know about buying a car AND getting a killer deal on it. You should check it out- America’s #1 Auto Buying Service.

So the day came when my van was screaming at me to let it go. And, with all the gas crunch, I needed better mileage. So I called Annie. We went on a car-safari (carfari?) We drove around and looked at vehicles for an afternoon. We determined what I loved and what I hated. What I needed and what I could live without. We figured out a general price range along with things like warranties and options.

… and then… this is the cool part. I went home. Really. I –went–home.

Annie went to the auction. Annie talked with the financing people. Annie negotiated with the car sales people. Annie got my warranty. Annie found my car.

Then she called me and told me I had a car waiting for me. I drove to her office, filled out the paperwork, and took possession of my car. I saved about $3,000 off the price I would have paid had I gone through the mind-numbing, gut wrenching, hair-pulling negotiations myself. And the price she got me included tax, license, warranties, and the fee Annie charges to take this headache off your hands.

But wait, there’s more! I decided I wanted to tint the windows, and since it was a used car (with only 35,000 miles), get new tires. Annie has her own “people” – and I got great prices on all of that just by going direct to her resources. And – get this. She sold my minivan for me! Life is good.

I figured something out on this journey. I don’t need to be good at everything. I just need to figure out what I’m good at, and surround myself with cool people like Annie Heerup who know — and LOVE– to do those things I can’t (or don’t want to) do myself. It’s so much more efficient, and keeps my blood pressure at a reasonable level. And Everyone wins when that happens! ;-D

Now – go take care of your network.

And if you call Annie, tell her I sent you!

Beth

© 2008 Beth Terry Seminars, Inc.

No comments yet

Leave a comment